Black Keys Release New Track “Turn Blue”

black keys turn blue album cover art, track, song

Yesterday, The Black Keys released their second track from their upcoming album, Turn Blue. Which being the title track from the new album is also titled “Turn Blue”. “Fever”, the first track released from the upcoming album, seemed to fall a bit short of expectations due to its unimaginative lyrics and a bland music style that feels fairly old hat at this point. Where as “True Blue” slows things down to spin an eerie, slower groove from the Keys, that satisfies in almost every way. Check it out here:

“True Blue” is a good sign of things to come if you ask me. It shows that the development of sound from The Black Keys still exists. “Fever” seemed to pick up right where 2011’s El Camino left off in terms of music and production, but seemed to carry less substance than ever, especially in the lyrics. After hearing “Fever”, my concern was that The Black Keys would focus more on developing commercially, rather than legitimately. I think that “True Blue” is a good sign that this concern is not necessary.

Produced by Dan Auberbach, Patrick Carney, and their ole’ pal Danger Mouse, True Blue is due out May 13th. I for one am very excited to see what comes of the remaining tracks that have yet to be heard. Here is the track listing set for the album:

1. Weight of Love
2. In Time
3. Turn Blue
4. Fever
5. Year in Review
6. Bullet in the Brain
7. It’s Up to You Now
8. Waiting on Words
9. 10 Lovers
10. In Our Prime
11. Gotta Get Away

And for one more little tie bit of True Blue foreplay (quite literally), be sure to check out this very creepy, extremely inappropriate, and hilarious album preview if you have not already:

Author: Todd

I dig musics ...

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s